

## 1. Purpose

The Academic Excellence Awards Committee will adjudicate Athabasca University's academic excellence awards.

## 2. Membership

The membership of the Academic Excellence Awards Committee shall include:

- Chair, Provost and Vice President, Academic
- Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies
- Four (4) full-time academic faculty members, one (1) elected by the full-time academic faculty members from each of the Faculty of Business, the Faculty of Health Disciplines, the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, and the Faculty of Science and Technology
- One (1) undergraduate student representative chosen by the council of the students association
- One (1) graduate student representative chosen by the council of the graduate students association

## 3. Responsibilities

The Academic Excellence Awards Committee has the following powers and duties:

- 3.1 Adjudicate the Craig Cunningham Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence (CCMATE), the President's Award for Research and Scholarly Excellence (PARSE), President's Award for Tutoring/Mentoring Excellence (PATME), Award for Excellence in Graduate Student Supervision (AEGSS), and any other relevant awards.
- 3.2 Review academic excellence awards policies and criteria and recommend to General Faculties Council revisions to policies governing these awards.
- 3.3 Where the Chair of Academic Excellence Awards Committee deems it necessary, a special meeting of the Committee shall be called to deal with urgent matters.

History	
Date	Action
November 8, 2011	GFC approved
July 9, 2015	GFC approved amendments
May 9, 2018	GFC approved amendments
May 2, 2024	GFC approved amendments