Our Executive Team

Deborah Meyers

Interim president, Athabasca University

Deborah Meyers took over as interim president of Athabasca University on April 1, 2021. She joined AU in September 2018 as the vice president finance and administration and chief financial officer. Meyers brings a background of strong leadership, mentorship, and a service-based culture to the role of interim president.

View Bio

Matthew Prineas

Provost and vice president academic, Athabasca University

Dr. Matthew Prineas joined Athabasca University in early September 2017 and is in his first term as provost and vice president academic. Before assuming his current role as provost at Athabasca University, Prineas served in a variety of influential leadership roles at the University of Maryland University College.

View Bio

Adriana Cavaliere

Senior executive assistant, Office of the President, Athabasca University

Adriana Cavaliere joined Athabasca University in January 2018.

As the president’s senior executive assistant, she brings years of diverse experience, having provided administration and support services to both the executive leadership team and the board of governors.

View Bio

Carol Lund

University secretary, Athabasca University

Carol Lund joined the Office of the University Secretariat at Athabasca University in 2001. Her prior work included various senior administration roles in management and human resources, in both the public and private sectors.

View Bio

David Head

Interim vice president finance and performance services, chief financial officer, Athabasca University

David Head joined the AU team in 2013 as the director, strategic initiatives and services, overseeing the university’s enterprise risk management, emergency management, facilities, procurement and contract services, and strategic initiatives. He previously served as vice president finance and administration (interim) from October 2017 to September 2018.

View Bio

Gilbert Perras

Chief of staff, Office of the President, Athabasca University

Gilbert Perras joined Athabasca University in March 2019, as the chief of staff, Office of the President.

Perras began his career at Athabasca University (AU) over 30 years ago holding various positions within the IT department and the Office of the Registrar. While working full-time he also completed his master of education at AU in 2001.

View Bio

Charlene Polege

Chief Human Resources Officer

Charlene Polege has spent the last 20 years collaborating with business leaders to empower and amplify their people talent in support of business goals and objectives.

View Bio

Jennifer Griffin Schaeffer

Vice president information technology and chief information officer

Jennifer Griffin Schaeffer is the vice president information technology and chief information officer. Schaeffer started at Athabasca University in November 2017 and is leading the digital transformation of Athabasca University to a Cloud & Code Campus—providing a collaborative engagement space for students, professors, and researchers to continuously innovate in digital pedagogy, applied augmented intelligence, and online learning experiences.

View Bio

Kristine Williamson

Vice president, University Relations

Kristine Williamson joined Athabasca University in October 2018, as the vice president University Relations. A recognized leader in fundraising, communications, marketing, and alumni relations strategy and management for over 20 years, Williamson has an extensive background in building effective and productive relationships in the private, public, and not-for-profit sectors.

View Bio