Athabasca University Convocation 2012

June 06, 2012

AU is awarding credentials to 1723 outstanding graduates at Convocation ceremonies June 7-9, 2012 in Athabasca, Alberta. The ceremonies will take place at the Athabasca Regional Multiplex.

Schedule of daily events:

8 a.m. - 5 p.m.               Student portraits
8 a.m. - 5 p.m.               Self-guided campus tours
9 a.m. - 11 a.m.             Continental breakfast
9 a.m. - 11 a.m.             Science Lab tours (except Saturday)
10:30 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. Gowning of ceremony participants
11:15 a.m. - 11:55 a.m. Formation of Academic procession
Noon                             Convocation ceremony

The university is also conferring honourary doctorates on three outstanding individuals during Convocation. On Thursday, June 7, 2012 an Honorary Doctor of Laws will be conferred on Dr. Nyameko Barney Pityana in recognition of his ongoing commitment to human rights. Dr. Pityana served as Chairman of the South African Human Rights Commission from 1995 to 2001 and also served on the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights at the Organisation of African Unity in 1997.

On Friday, June 18, 2012 an Honorary Doctor of Laws will be conferred on Jack Brink in recognition in recognition of his contributions to the field of archaeology, specifically PreContact Archeaology of Alberta and the Northern Plains of North America.

Also on Friday, June 8, 2012 the RAIC Centre for Architecture Development Group will be inducted into the Order of Athabasca University in recognition of the members' efforts towards the development, advocacy and promotion of the AU architecture program..

On Saturday, June 9, 2012 an Honorary Doctor of Athabasca University will be conferred on Dr. John Willinsky in recognition of his advocacy of open access, particularly the free and widespread dissemination of knowledge through Open Educational Resources.

For more information, contact:
John O'Brien
Manager, Media Relations
Athabasca University


< back to news

Updated September 27 2013